Athletics round-up



Runners line up for the final Bunny Run fell race of the season from the Guide Inn above Keighley. Organiser Dave Woodhed substituted raw eggs for the relay baton, and imposed a three-minute penalty on any team which broke its egg. The winning team was: Steve hawkins, Mick hawkins and Robert Hudson. The fastest leg was run by Mick Hawkins (12:13) and the fastest women's leg was run by Sarah Rowell in 15:03.



Keighley & Craven's Chris Preston out-paced many men on the Three Peaks

Keighley and Craven Athletics Club claimed a prized 23rd place as the top clubs in England, Scotland and Wales contested the National 12 Stage Road Relay at Sutton Park, Birmingham on Saturday. The race held over alternate long (5.4 miles) and short (3.0 miles) attracted over 70 of the nation's best who have to qualify through regional championships. Having finished 17th in the Northern championships Keighley and Craven were confident of improving on their best place 49th two years ago.

Adrian Jones got the club off to his usual excellent start with a time of 27 minutes 56 secondsfor the first long leg. Solid runs on the next four legs saw the team in 37th position after leg 5.

The next three legs saw a major surge through the field. Len Buxton gained three places on the short leg 6 followed by Lawrence Hellawell who gained two more places on the long leg 7. Will Smith continued his excellent form with a club record time of 15.45 for the short leg 8 the 11th fastest time for this leg. He gained four places toput his team into 28th position. Further consolidation on legs 9 and 10 was followed by a final surge on the final two

Team captain James Callaghan gained four places on the penultimate leg and Mark Wycherley gained a further two places on leg 12 to bring the club home.

Full Leg Results Leg 1 - Adrian Jones 27.56 Leg 2 - Liam Spencer 16.02 Leg 3 - Chris Loftus 29.23 Leg 4 - Steve Hornby 16.18 Leg 5 - Darren Brame 29.13 Leg 6 - Len Buxton 16.36 Leg 7-Lawrence Hellawell 28.54 Leg 8 - Will Smith 15.45 Leg 9 - Martin Horbury 30.03 Leg 10 - Ian Taylor 16.09 Leg 11 - James Callaghan 29.06 Leg12 -Mark Wycherley 15.16.

Bingley Harriers finished ninth in an event in which Salford retained their title.